Who was the founder of Mourya Dynasty?

Chandraguptha Mourya

Asoka, the son of Bindusara, was the greatest ruler of Mourya Dynasty. Bindusara is also known as Amitraghata

Ashoka adopted the title ‘Devanapriya Priyadarsi’ which means ‘Beloved of Gods’

The term Asoka Means I am without sorrow.

Ashoka fought the war against Kalinga in 261 BC and conquered it after the battle of Kalinga, Asoka gave up war entirely. He died in 232 BC.

Ashoka adopted Hinayana Buddhism under the inspiration of a boy monk named Nigrodha or Upagupta.

Ashoka held the Third Buddhist Council at this Capital in Pataliputra.

Ashoka spread Buddhism in Sri Lanka and Nepal

Asoka is also called as the Constantine of Buddhism.

The IV major rock Edict of Asoka deals with the conquest of Kalinga.

Chandraguptha Mourya founded the Mourya Dynasty, and under him the whole of northern India was united.

Magasthenes, who wrote Indica was the Greek Ambassador to Chandragupta Mourya’s Court.

Division of society into 7 classes during Mauryan period has been mentioned by Megasthanes.

Chandraguptha Maurya was the first Indian Ruler who introduced large number of silver coins in India

Kautily, also known as Chanakya, was the Prime Minister of Chandragupta Maurya. he wrote the Arthasasthra, a treatise on statecraft. His real name was Vishnu Gupta.

The capital of Maurya Dynasty was


Asoka’s personal religion was Buddhism. Kind Devanampriya Tissa of Ceylon was his First convert.

The royal highway between Taxila and Pataliputra was the ancestor of the Grand Trunk Road today.

Asokan inscriptions were composed mainly in Prakrit language and in Brahmi script.

The first foreign traveler in India was Magasthenes.

Magasthenes was a Greek ambassodor to the court of Chadraguptha Maurya.

The play Mudrasakshasa was written by Visakhadhatta. Rock Cut architecture in India made a beginning in Asoka’s reign.

Stanika in Mauryan administration refers to the tax collector

The emblem of the Indian Republic has been adopted from the four lion capital of one of the Ashoka’s pillars which is located at Saranath.

Leave a Comment